A good villain makes a better hero

 

 So, one of the two projects I’m working on is a superhero story that’s been kicking around in my head since high school, and only finally started fleshing itself out fully a week ago, the title may change but the main character is called The Reaper, and he’s a man who discovers that his grandfather was not only a Golden Age era superhero, but that he was picked to bring his legacy forward with an updated suit, gadgets and such so there’s an element of humor as well to a what will be dark at times story.

Now, the villain of the piece, is the legacy of the original Reaper’s arch nemesis…and that’s where I’m drawing a blank on, the whole first act is all put together in my head, save for the second most important character of the story outside the protagonist, the antagonist.  Now sure, it’d be easy, albeit really cheap to just call the villain that, and be done with it, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned from reading comics and watching movies and genre shows all my life, the best, and I mean the best villains are the flipside to the hero’s personality and actions.  Batman and The Joker, The Doctor and The Master, Sherlock and Moriarty (BBC ‘Sherlock’ version especially) all are mirror images of the other but twisted.  And how do I come up with that, let alone a name for the villain. 

In writing this I realize the flaw in creating this character does not fall from lack of imagination on my part but rather I haven’t fully thought of the protagonist that well outside of the look and the actions he takes.  Think I may have just solved my own writing crisis here.   Back to the metaphorical drawing board I suppose. 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A good villain makes a better hero

  1. Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i
    read this post i thought i could also create comment due to this good post.

Leave a Reply

