Hi, my name is Mike, and I’m a nerd, geek, whatever you want to call it.

 So, I just saw the new Star Trek: Into Darkness movie, and absolutely loved it. I really want to say more and go all in depth with it, but this is one time I don’t want to spoil anything.  I will say that I want to see the movie a few more times in theaters, and that hasn’t happened to me with a movie since The Avengers.  So, seriously go see it now, I’ll go with you. 

But that movie got me thinking that for the longest time, I refused to watch Star Trek as a whole, or even my current new favorite Doctor Who, for the sole sake of not being one of ‘those nerds’.  As if collecting comic books and action figures is any better, but for the longest time, especially in high school I’d impose limits to my nerdyness, so as to fit in with the normal people.  

Hell, even not too long ago I was with someone who was not even the slightest bit nerdy, and I’d almost gone through with my idea of selling the action figures, and fully ‘growing up’, and I’d let my nerdy passions fall by the wayside for the most part.  And since that ended…and subsequently broken down and watched more than just an episode of Doctor Who I’ve realized, this is who I am, and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that, and the next time I’m in a relationship it will be with someone who shares my geeky passion for things, or at the least can appreciate that.  

 And it’s been a great time to be a nerd, geek, whatever you want to call it the past few years, we’ve essentially taken over the mainstream media, with movies, tv shows, everything.  I’ve read articles recently about people saying that this is only a phase, and the bubble’s going to burst soon and all the great genre stuff with all go away and the status quo will eventually fall back that the geeks will be back to their dusty comic shops and in some cases parent’s basements.  But I don’t think so, we’re not going anywhere, anytime soon.  We’ve already had our share of bad movies come out.  X3, Wolverine Origins….Elektra, some would say Daredevil (I still liked that movie, dammit)…and look, the movie quality has only gotten better since then.  Not everything can be as good as The Avengers, but even Iron Man 3 is leaps and bounds better than Batman Forever or even..shudder, Spider-Man 3… we don’t talk about that one.

Geek culture is here to stay, for those of us that have been on this nerd train for a while it’s a good time to be us, and for the newbies out their brought in by awesome movies, welcome to the club. You have a great journey ahead of you.  

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

