A dog chasing cars…

 

   So I was in the car with my Dad earlier this week, and I say, it’s crazy how fast the year has gone by.  He replied, I know, you know that’s a sign you’re getting old, he said jokingly.  And I laughed, cause it’s funny but as the great philosopher Homer Simpson once noted, ‘It’s funny cause it’s true.’  Now, I’m only 33, but that’s still old to some, I’m the oldest in a lot of my social circles, mostly on account of being in the Navy seven years, and when you’re a seven year E-3, the most of the people that you’re allowed to socialize with in your paygrade are among the ages of 18-23 let’s just say on average.   But this is ok, because I can still pass, appearance wise for mid 20’s (thank you six pound, five ounce baby Jesus) and I’m well versed in Will Ferrel quotes, so I was bound to make friends in those circles. 

   I got out last year, and kind of bounced around jobs since then, starting a new career path though going to be selling life insurance, and it’s to be honest not something I ever imagined I’d do, never really had much of a mind for anything practical before, but as I sit and look back on the past 33, almost 34 years, I always kind of figured that by this point I’d have an idea of what’s going on, a plan for life, a family maybe like I’ll say a good third of the people I know, settled down, careers, families all that stuff.  

 

  I mean it’s not as if I don’t want that, I was married before too, but I didn’t have the right mindset then for that, it was all about me then, as it is now, but that’s just cause I’m single, which there are pros and cons with that as well.  Admittedly it is nice not to have to watch dumb reality shows, and know way more than anyone should know about what’s going on on Grey’s Anatomy, but at the same time, yeah it’s kind of lonely.  I always figured, in my younger, (slightly) less intelligent days that by a certain point in life everything just clicks and bam, you’re an adult, you have plans and goals and you know exactly what’s going on.    But the reality is that Adult button is pushed on you, and you have bills, and responsibilities, but no real clue beyond that other than work job, to pay bills, to pay taxes, to get food, sleep, shower, and repeat.   I wish there was some kind of strategy guide for this stuff, hell a cheat code wouldn’t be too shabby either.   So I just jump up twice, spin around, kick, then punch twice and I get infinite money, sweet.

 

  That’s apparently not that case (dammit) , but then again I don’t think anybody really has a clue what’s going on, and if they do, they’re lying.  It’s just a big mass thing of chaos, everyone faking it til it becomes real, or so I like to believe anyway.  Cause I haven’t the slightest clue, to quote Heath Ledger’s Joker, I’m just a dog chasing cars…if I caught one, I wouldn’t know what to do with it.    And that’s basically the truth, congrats to all of you who make it look like you have a clue, cause I know I don’t.   Hell, maybe 43 that button will sink in and I’ll know what’s going on. I’ll get back to you on that one, but chances are I doubt it. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

