Three Lessons From 2014, and other things.

So, as we draw close to the conclusion of the year that was 2014, I like most of you, tend to look back over the year, see what worked, what didn’t, and where we can go into this New Year. Normally I’d break down the ten best/worst movies, and tv shows and such, but I didn’t really see a lot of movies this year, as I spent far too much of the year not getting paid, which tends to put a damper in things. I will say though that my favorite movie of 2014 was Guardians of the Galaxy, there was no other movie like it this past year that was that much fun, and a blast to watch. It’s the first movie in some years that I saw repeatedly in theaters, and if you haven’t seen it, you really should.

I’m also glad to see that my predictions of just a plethora of geektastic movies and tv shows were released, and another plethora just announced for the next decade or so, and this is just fantastic. I am of course, disappointed that my prediction/wish for 2014 was that the San Francisco 49ers make and win the Super Bowl both last and this current American Football season, but that was not to be the case it seems. However, my baseball team, the San Francisco Giants, pulled through in another even year miracle and won the World Series, which was just awesome, and I would have predicted that in my last year end retrospective/forecast, but the even year thing slipped my mind at the time, it happens.

As far as Peter Capaldi’s first season as The Doctor, it had a few hits, a few misses, and a Missy, but overall he’s made The Doctor his own, and while I miss Matt Smith in the role still, he’s shown that right now, Capaldi is indeed, The Doctor.

Now that the fun stuff is out of the way, it’s time to talk about the world in 2014, which got really, really, really dark. I don’t want to put in any opinions or anything on things, because, well, that’s not my world, and I don’t have first hand knowledge of things, but all I will say is, we, as a collective humanity, need to do better next year. It might be too much to ask for, but we can try at least. If you can just say, make one person’s day a little bit better, as opposed to worse, then you’re doing your job as a human being I think. And that I don’t think shouldn’t be too much to ask for.

Okay, that’s out of the way, and before I leave you, until I’m inspired to write something again, I’d like to leave you with Three Lessons I’ve learned in 2014. They might apply to you, they might not, but if you haven’t lived a year on this planet and not learned a few things, you’re doing it wrong.

Lesson 1: Money Isn’t Everything

I started out the year working for a major metropolitan insurance company, not the one you’re thinking of, the one that doesn’t feel like it needs to advertise much for whatever reason. And during my 9 month tenure there, I changed into a person I didn’t like becoming. I dropped a few friends because they wouldn’t let me sell them things, I got really into pricey suits, thinking that that was what was important, and I lost a few friends because of the person I was turning into, really slimy salesman, working angles to get people to buy, and in the end, that’s not who I want to be. That, and I didn’t get paid for two months, which really put things into perspective. So, I turned things around, finally used my GI Bill and I went back to college, to get my business administration degree, so I don’t ever have to become that person again.

Lesson 2: Don’t Allow People To Put Limits On What You Can Do

When I was growing up, somewhere around 7th grade or so let’s say, I was told that I had a Learning Disability when it came to Math, so the rest of my public school career was spent in the easier math classes, and I accepted this as fact that was a weakness of mine, I couldn’t do advanced math. Cut to 2014, and I’m in college once more, and I have to take these math classes to get through to the college level math courses I need for my degree. I get through the first one, fractions, easily, because it’s fractions, and it came time to do linear equations, and I bombed it the first time, I tried explaining the Learning Disability to the administration, but they said I had to get through this class.

So I took it a second time, and grasped the material a little bit better, but still bombed it in the end.
After a third and final attempt at the class, the material all made sense to me, and I grasped things I couldn’t even begin to put together in any of the other attempts, and I passed. And this is without tutoring or anything, I did it myself, which I was really proud of myself for. So, don’t let people say what you can or can’t do, only person that sets your limits is yourself.

Lesson 3: Don’t change yourself for anyone but you.

Should be self explanatory, but it’s a lesson that needs reminding every so often. Don’t allow what you have or don’t have to affect who you are as a person. If what you have isn’t good enough for someone, that that person isn’t good enough for you. That’s just how things work out. Don’t force yourself to be something you’re not for anyone. Be yourself, because you’re awesome, and have great taste in blogs.

That’s it for this year’s wrap up, look forward to, I’ll try to write more this year as well, that should be a New Year’s Resolution I can keep. And if not, then I’ll see you in a year’s time, where I’m sure to write about how great that new Star Wars movie was. Until next time, be awesome, friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

